National minimum wage

As of January 1st 2019, there exists a national minimum wage which applies to all employers and workers, except for members of the National Defense Force, National Intelligence Agency, South African Secret Service, or unpaid volunteers working for charity. The national minimum wage was effected through the National Minimum Wage Act which came about as an attempt to address the income disparities in the national labour market. The national minimum wage is as follows:

  • All workers: R20.00
  • Farm workers: R18.00
  • Domestic workers: R15.00

For more information on the national minimum wage, the National Minimum Wage Act and its implications, as well as other labour legistlation, visit the Department of Labour's website.

No votes yet